Rice: isn´t it the world´s most famous, millenary, and popular food in the world? Rice is eaten by more than 3 billion people in the world. 3 billion people! Can you imagine that? As a matter of fact, rice is the most eaten grain of cereal in the world. It is used as either the main ingredient or just as a side. Have you ever wonder what kind of rice is gluten free? In fact, it is a vital ingredient in gluten free diets! Do you know how many rice types are there? Let me show you all about Gluten Free Rice: Types and Recipes on How to Prepare it.
Since a couple of years from now, we have learnt the meaning of “Gluten free”, it is everywhere! Basically, what it means is food that are free from gluten, a protein present in wheat, barley, rye and all of the products that come from these, such as beer or pizza. It was discovered that that there is a substantial amount of the world population who suffers from gluten allergy or is just gluten intolerant. There is also a medical condition called Celiac Disease that affects more than one per cent of the planet´s population, it is an autoimmune condition that makes the small bowel swell causing chronic fatigue, skin rashes, and anemia, among other symptoms.
Some people have decided to change their lifestyle by changing to Gluten Free Diets just because of its countless different kind of benefits. Gluten is present in lots of different foods, even though we are not aware of it and it affects our digestive system. It is not only people who suffers a medical condition who can benefit from gluten free diets but also those ones who are mindful of their bodies and would like to improve their health conditions.
Let me share with you one video that helped me understand better this whole Gluten Free concept:
Athletic performance improvement
Digestive function improvement
Helps in cases of depression
Could help in cases of lactose intolerance
Yes, anyone who is looking to improve their health condition. Then, what do I eat if I am on a Gluten Free Diet? Most of the people carrying a gluten free diet relies on the world´s most eatable cereal grain: Rice. The reasons of choosing rice over any other cereal is its versatility, its ridiculously low price, and the crazy amount of nutrients that it has.
There are more than 40.000 different types of Rice, from Jasmine to Double Carolina, there is a type of rice for each kind of person. The best thing? When unprocessed, rice is entirely Gluten Free and it can also be turned into flour. Most of the packaged foods that are gluten free are made with rice flour instead of regular one (wheat).
Absolutely, in it´s natural form rice does not contain gluten protein making it natural gluten free. Just a few things that we need to keep in mind if we suffer from celiac disease or gluten allergy:
We need to make sure that the rice that we are preparing for our gluten free diet or the rice that we are eating in our gluten free restaurant has not been in contact with another cereals containing gluten. Always buy certified gluten free rice and try to avoid buying from markets where all the cereals are mixed up in bins. If you go to a restaurant you need to check that the rice preparation is not being made in the same pan as regular meals.
Some of the ingredients or premade meals that contains rice are mixed with other cereals and might contain gluten in it. So always read the label and look for the gluten free certificate on it.
Natural rice has a small percentage of arsenic in it. It is natural and it would not be relevant in regular situations but whenever you are doing a gluten free diet rice becomes one of the main ingredients of your diet leading to increasing the amount of rice consumption. Rice in high quantities can bring up the levels of arsenic consumed, and this is not healthy at all. So make sure you read the labels and balance your rice ingestion with other different beans or gluten free cereals.
Different types of food do require different types of rice to achieve exotic flavors. Each preparation might need its own type of rice. The three most common types of rice are:
The most common and famous rice but it lacks off nutrients. In order to last long in our shelves and have a smoother texture, it goes under a process where it is removed from it fibers and minerals.
This one is basically unrefined rice. It is full of nutrients, minerals and fibers and it has a stronger texture than white rice.
Wild rice is indeed a gluten free grass that would normally be labeled as rice. It is high in fiber, minerals, protein, and antioxidants. But it is hard to grow so most of the prices are ridiculously high. You can balance this by swapping between rice and quinoa.
Another types of rice that are gluten free are: Basmati, Jasmine and red rice. Also there is one type of rice called “glutinous rice” that despite its name it is also gluten free.
Try to avoid mixed up rice as it might not necessarily be gluten free. You also might need to avoid certain foods like Sushi or risotto, as sometimes the rice used in it is seasoned with wheat vinegar.
Now that we know that we can count on rice for our rice gluten free diet, wouldn’t you like to know which recipes can I prepare with it? Here are two 4 steps-recipes of the most delicious and exotic foods that you can make using rice as the main ingredient. Yummy!
A new and easier but much tastier recipe of the old classic Chicken and Rice. Inspired in the Spanish land you can now cook this delicious dish at home.
Enjoy this reversion of the famous rice and chicken!
East-Asian inspired this not only gluten free but also vegan dessert will drive you crazy. If you are interested in Vegan food as well this is the article that you need to read: How to go vegan with no setbacks, specially for begginers.
Enjoy this amazing recipes. But if you are still unsure of what is a Gluten Free Diet or lazy about cooking at home you can have a look at our article: Gluten Free: What is it & where are the best restaurants?